The BBC has a handy list of who’s resigning from the Government and when.

16:17GMT – Leader of the House of Commons Robin Cook resigns after a meeting with Tony Blair at 10 Downing Street. He said: “Neither the international community nor the British public are persuaded that there is an urgent and compelling reason for this action in Iraq.”

07:00GMT – Lord Hunt of Kings Heath announces his resignation as junior health minister on BBC Radio 4’s Today Programme, saying: “At the end of the day I don’t support this action and it would be hypocritical for me to stay in government.”

11:11GMT – Home Office Minister John Denham resigns saying: “I cannot support the government in tonight’s vote.”

11:39GMTBob Blizzard, Labour MP for Waveney, resigns as Private Parliamentary Secretary to work and pensions minister Nick Brown.

11:56GMTAnne Campbell, Labour MP for Cambridge, resigns from her role as Private Parliamentary Secretary to Patricia Hewitt, secretary of state for trade and industry.

Any minister or PPS who resigns will be comemmorated on the Roll of Honour over on the right hand side of the Virtual Stoa, at least for a bit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.